

The Faculty Senate 3-G Holden Hall Lubbock, Texas 79409 / (806) 742-3656

April 7, 1988

TO: Members of the Faculty Senate

FROM: Georgette Gettel, President

RE: Agenda for meeing #97, April 13, 1988

3:30 p.m., Senate Room, University Center

## AGENDA

- I. Recognition of Guests
- II. Approval of the minutes of the March 9, 1988 meeting
- III. Recognition of Former Chairs of Faculty Advisory Committee and Faculty Council and Past Presidents of Faculty Senate 1967-1987
- IV. Remarks by President Cavazos
- V. Remarks by Vice President Haragan, Academic Affairs and Research
- VI. Report by Clint Ramsey, Assistant to Athletic Director and Academic Coordinator, on Athletic Student Affairs, 1987-88
- VII. Report by Bill Gustafson, Senate Representative, on Administrative Council activities
- VIII. Committee Reports
  - Academic Dishonesty Task Force, Julia Whitsitt (see attachment)
  - Committee on Committees, David Payne, Chair (see attachment)
  - Budget Study Committee, Ernest Fish, Chair
  - Special Issues Committee: Gettel, Mathis, Whitehead
  - Faculty Status and Welfare Committee, Uzi Mann, Chair
  - Study Committee A (Library Monitoring), Neale Pearson, Chair (see attachment)
  - Study Committee B (General Education Curriculum), Don Ethridge, Chair (see attachment)
  - Research Support Study Special Committee, Ken Ketner, Chair
- IX. Announcements and Other Business
- X. Adjournment

"An Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Institution"

## FACULTY SENATE STUDY COMMITTEE B March 14, 1988

The committee recommendation to the Faculty Senate for recommendation to the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Research is that the Oversight Committee consist of three representatives from the College of Arts & Sciences and one representative from each of the other colleges (Agricultural Sciences, Architecture, Business Administration, Education, Engineering, and Home Economics.) The Arts and Sciences representatives should represent the a) arts and humanities, b) natural sciences, and c) social science areas. Representatives should be selected from the college curriculum committees and there should be an ex officio member from Academic Affairs.

FORMER CHAIRS: Faculty Advisory Committee and Faculty Council and Past Presidents of Faculty Senate

## FACULTY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Bill Oden 1967

Berlie Fallon 1967 - 1968 (deceased)

## FACULTY COUNCIL

Paul Pri		1969, Chairman, Executive Committee										
-	berhelman	1969 -	1970,	Chairman,	Executive	Commi	ttee					
	ongworth	1970 -	1972,	Chairman,	Executive	Comm	ttee					
Charles	Dale	1972 -	1973,	Chairman,	Executive	Commi	tee					
Charles	Hardwick	1973 -	1975,	Chairman,	Executive	Commi	tee					
Mary Dab	ney	1975 -	1976,	Chairman,	Executive	Commi	ttee					
(deceased)												
	n Collins	1976 -	1977,	Chairman,	Executive	Commi	ttee					
Clarence	Bell	1977 -	1978,	Chairman,	Executive	Commi	ttee					
						- 4						

Spring Semester the organization became the Faculty Senate

Margaret	Wilson	1978 -	1979,	President	of	Faculty	Senate
Gary Elb	w	1979 -	1980,	President	of	Faculty	Senate
Roland S	nith	1980 -	1981,	President	of	Faculty	Senate
Benjamin	Newcomb			President			
Virginia	Sowell	1982 -	1983,	President	of	Faculty	Senate
William I	layer-Oakes	1983 -	1984,	President	of	Faculty	Senate
Evelyn D	vis	1984 -	1985,	President	of	Faculty	Senate
Margaret	Wilson			President			
Gerald Si	koog	1986 -	1987,	President	of	Faculty	Senate